Home

Biography

"At the End of the Day"

"The Lullaby Album"

"Home for Christmas"

"By the Sea" - single

Reviews

Pictures

Slideshow

Sheet Music

 

 

 

 

CD also available at Amazon.com

 

Purchase CD on iTunes

Buy CD "At the End of the Day" on iTunes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

HOME FOR CHRISTMAS - Reviewed by Michael Debbage 12-11-2011

It has been 5 years since pianist Carolyn Southworth released her quite extraordinary debut album At The End Of The Day. Although she has collaborated with daughter Jennifer Thomas on the delightful specialty project The Lullaby Album in 2009, we had to wait another 2 years before hearing from her and once again she chose a specialty theme in the form of Christmas. With such releases being a dime a dozen, a special time of the year requires a special type of artist to separate themselves apart from all the other releases. With Southworth securing assistance from her “musical elves” Jennifer Thomas, Jace Vek and Paul Speer, she once again delivers a beautifully wrapped musical present to her listeners.

One of the bright aspects of Home For Christmas is Southworth’s stellar song choices by mixing traditional familiar Christmas carols with others that are less familiar, resulting in an album that has the feel of the first snowfall…fresh, vibrant and magical. On the familiar path there is the terrific orchestration from Jace Vek courtesy of “The First Noel”, while the unfamiliar path is explored via the song “Twas In The Moon Of Wintertime” or for that matter the spirited “Bring A Torch Jeannette, Isabella”. Either path brings you to the same destination…a pampered lap of musical luxury.

Meanwhile if you want something completely different, Southworth delivers her own Christmas musical gifts courtesy of two self composed songs. “First Snow” will quickly become familiar to you featuring the orchestration arrangements of Jennifer Thomas, which is followed up by the regal “Shades Of White”. If it reminds you of a David Lanz Paul Speer arrangement, well that’s because guitarist Paul Speer decides to pay a musical visit with Zak Dewey assisting on the drums and percussion. Perhaps “Shades Of Narada” would be a more appropriate title as the sheer quality of this song alone is clear evidence that if the Narada recording label were still around Southworth would most likely be an artist on their roster.

At the end of the day, Southworth closes out the album with the ever so familiar “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” that will leave you clinging to your Christmas’s of yesteryears. Considering this album is somewhat of a standout Christmas album, don’t be surprised if Home For Christmas becomes a permanent resident of your future Christmas memories.

Home for Christmas -reviewed by RJ Lannan on 11/27/2011- Zone Music Reporter

I guess it is no surprise that pianist Carolyn Southworth delivers an album-ful of "carols" on Home For Christmas, and she does it very well. The songs are well orchestrated and the credits contain some familiar names like Jace Vek, Paul Speer and Jennifer Thomas. She offers an old favorite of mine, a French Canadian song called 'Twas in the Moon of Wintertime. Carolyn does some great interpretations of Bring the Torch Jeannette, Isabella, O Come O Come Emmanuel and introduces a new, original instrumental called Shades of White. The First Noel, a favorite, and Pat A Pan were two outstanding tracks.

Oh, Sweet Tranquility by RJ Lannan 4/7/2010 - Zone Music Reporter

They say it takes a village to raise a child. On The Lullaby Album, it took a plethora of talents that resulted in a moving experience for the child in all of us. The recording is a concerted effort between mother Carolyn Southworth and daughter Jennifer Thomas. Both are noted artist with previous works. The album has the unique feature of being a double album. One disc has thirteen exquisite tunes with solo piano and the other disc features the tunes with full orchestration. It can suit any mood or situation. The album also features several noted musicians including Jace Vek and Jillian Goldin and includes legendary New Age guitarist Paul Speer as producer. There are over one hundred minutes of soothing New Age and World sounds on the album. Every note is a loving contribution to peace and serenity. Every song is a musical blessing.

Jennifer's rendition of Baby of Mine is a noteworthy tune as it captures a bit of classical elements, but glistens with the starry presence of contemporary themes. Rolling soft and deeply memorable, this song is a gift or perhaps a hushed prayer of thanks.

All the Pretty Little Horses is a traditional African-American lullaby and is sometimes called Hush-a-Bye. It has been recorded numerous times by such greats as Peter, Paul & Mary, Judy Collins and Shawn Colvin. Carolyn's arrangement is poignant and sweet as the well-known song takes you back to your childhood, a loved one or forward to the child in your newfound dreams or the new life in your future.

Dream Weaver became a favorite almost right away. It is lushly orchestrated into a tune that suits a major motion picture or a modern symphony. There is soothing movement in the piece as if we are on an emotional journey and our dreams start to unfold in our hearts and minds.

Sweet Dreams with lead vocal by Jillian Goldin and background by Lori Cunningham is absolutely seraphic. This is the accompaniment to the instrumental Sweet Dreams. Both tunes are gently dulcet with the wishes of a peaceful sleep for the angels. The drifting melody and sweet voice is the background sound for anyone’s daydream or nighttime slumber.

"Each night as evening falls, sweet dreams are born
All bound with love, soft and rosy as the morn."
- Carolyn Southworth

Dancing in the Clouds with its sumptuous string arrangement and impressive melody is another remarkable tune. Just for a moment, the intro reminded me of Castle on a Cloud from the Les Misérable soundtrack. It had that airy feel with a touch of innocence that deeply etches the song on your heart and mind.

I have always been familiar with the vocal rendition of All Through the Night. I can still remember some of the words. However, I have never heard it like this. Southworth takes the song and makes it her own by adding a layer of emotion with a touch of innate beauty. I can still voice the words, but it is hard to do justice to the melody.

Old Scottish Lullaby with orchestrations by Jace Vek is far and above the best cut on The Lullaby Album. The combination of flute, pipes and piano are eminently enchanting. It is a majestic tune full of magic and melancholy. It is the closing credits to a day of sunny skies, big yellow kites and grasshopper hunts.

I believe it to be a stroke of genius to make the album a combination of solo piano and orchestrated tunes. Each rendition has its own magic and its own story. The love between mother and daughter is obvious and it flows in and around every note. Whether you want music to fill your days with peace or your nights dreams, then I recommend this album.

Review "The Lullaby Album" - by Michael Debbage - www.mainlypiano.com

By MIchael Debbage - Dec. 23, 2009

It is very clear by the title of the album that this is a specialty project. But how is this album different from any other lullaby album? It is a very personal project with Jennifer Thomas dedicating it to her first-born, Preston. And to add to the tie that binds, Jennifer extended that collaboration to her mother Carolyn Southworth, keeping it all in the family. But to those of you that may be put off by the specialty label, the album is a double feature, one of which includes some orchestration, resulting in an album that not only has a special purpose but also includes the entertainment factor.

The Lullaby Album includes 3 original compositions from each artist with the remaining balance relying on some very familiar tunes. On the latter, the album opens with the infamous “Brahms Lullaby” with Thomas taking the lead on the arrangement. In complete contrast, Thomas gives “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” a significant makeover thanks to the wonderful orchestration assistance from Jace Vek. As far as her original compositions are concerned there is the warm and fluid “Baby Of Mine” in contrast with the more classically based “Un Petit Nocturne” both impressive for completely different reasons.

Southworth’s cover contributions come courtesy of the mystical “Old Scottish Lullaby” and the Appalachian “All The Pretty Horses”. But her best original contribution and for that matter the album’s finer moment, is the utterly moving “Unseen Angel”. The song opens with Southworth’s memorable melody that is fleshed out with Jace Vek’s inspirational orchestration, paralleling the emotive tug that John Barry and Tim Janis are more than capable of doing on any given day. Whether in the stripped down version found on the solo disc or with the orchestration, this song alone is worth the price of admission.

Back in 2006 both mother and daughter released their debut albums. Southworth focused on a mainstream effort while Thomas introduced her unique blend of classical trimmings clothed in a New Age mainstream effort, bringing a sense of warmth to her music. Here they have managed to blend their own musical influences to compose a specialty album that also includes an intrinsic entertainment value. With or without child, The Lullaby Album double feature is not only an album of significant quantity but also one of quality material. Whether or not Southworth and Thomas will collaborate again remains to be seen. But there is no doubting that we can expect to hear more wonderful material from these two very different artists.

Article/Review in Deseret News "Lullaby Album is all in the Family"

By Scott Iwasaki August 28, 2009, www.deseretnews.com

"Nearly three years ago, I met a woman named Carolyn Southworth. She and her husband, Ron, came to town for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints general conference.

They gave me a CD of Carolyn's piano music, "At the End of the Day."

At first I expected a church-oriented CD, but instead, after talking with them, I realized that the music was what I like to call contemporary instrumental.

Other contemporary instrumentalists I listen to include Suzanne Ciani, David Lanz and the guitar and woodwind duo Tingstad & Rumbel.

To my surprise, Southworth knows Nancy Rumbel and had her play on the album, which is one of my favorites to this day.

Well, Southworth has released a new album titled "The Lullaby Album."

This two-CD release, by Southworth and her daughter Jennifer Thomas, reminds me of David Lanz's "Skyline Firedance" because one disc is solo piano versions of songs and the other disc features the same piano songs with an orchestral arrangement.

And to tell you all the truth, "The Lullaby Album," which features traditional, pop and original melodies, is quite good.

Southworth said the album came about after Thomas, also a recording artist who released her debut CD "Key of Sea" in 2007, had her first child. The baby had difficulty falling asleep. So Thomas would play the piano to calm her young boy down.

The sessions gave Thomas the idea to do an album of lullabies, and she asked her mother to make the project a joint venture.

The result is a nice mother-daughter collaboration, which is available at www.amazon.com, www.cdbaby.com, www.jenniferthomasmusic.com and www.carolynsouthworth.com

Southworth's heartfelt arrangements on tracks such as "Sweet Dreams," "All the Pretty Little Horses," "Dream Weaver" and "All Through the Night" intertwine flawlessly with Thomas' tracks that include "Brahms' Lullaby," her own "Dancing on the Clouds," "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" and Billy Joel's "Goodnight, My Angel."

Award-winning vocalists Jillian Goldin and Lori Cunningham add their touches to some of the tracks, and the orchestration on the songs "Dream Weaver," "Twinkle Twinkle...," "Old Scottish Lullaby" and "Unseen Angel," by Emmy Award-winning pianist Jace Vek, is flawless.

Grammy Award-winner Paul Speer, who, in addition to his solo works, has recorded albums with Lanz, engineered and mixed "The Lullaby Album."

Two songs caught my attention. The first was the LDS Church Primary song "I Am a Child of God," which, I must say, is my mother's favorite Primary song. Southworth's arrangement will probably make my mom cry.

The second is "Unseen Angel." Southworth said the song was inspired by an incident in which her friend was rushed to the hospital suffering from multiple organ failure. Through faith and the efforts of paramedics and doctors, her friend, to the doctors' amazement, made a miraculous full recovery.

"The Lullaby Album" is definitely a keeper for me."

e-mail: scott@desnews.com

Review from Mainly Piano - "The Lullaby Album"

By Kathy Parsons - www.mainlypiano.com

"The Lullaby Album is a very special two-disc collection of traditional and original lullabies composed, arranged and performed by Carolyn Southworth and Jennifer Thomas. Disc One is piano with orchestra and Disc Two is the same songs as piano solos. Two factors make this album unusual. The first is that Jennifer Thomas is Carolyn Southworth’s daughter, and the second is that they teamed up to create music that Jennifer’s baby, a problem sleeper, could fall asleep to. As they say in the liner notes, all of the music has been tried, tested and “Preston approved.” Both pianists are classically trained, both are piano teachers, and each has released a solo album. Without the liner notes, it is not obvious who is playing which songs, so the album is smooth, polished, and heartfelt from beginning to end. The artists’ intention with the two discs was that the solo piano CD would be for calming at bedtime and the orchestrated one is “for those who like a little more to listen to.” Paul Speer did the mixing and mastering of the album, and Jace Vek contributed orchestrations for four of the pieces. I really can’t say I prefer one CD over the other - I love the simple honesty of solo piano, but the orchestrated versions are compelling, too. I’m glad I don’t have to choose!

Both discs begin with Brahms’ Lullaby, probably the best-known lullaby in the world. Jennifer Thomas’ solo piano arrangement is tender and sweet. Carolyn Southworth’s “Sweet Dreams” appears three times - as a piano solo, orchestrated with piano, and with vocals. All three versions are gorgeous, but I think I like the solo version best. There are several other high points on the solo CD. Thomas’ “Baby of Mine (Preston’s Song)” is a favorite, filled with love and wonder. Another favorite is Southworth’s arrangement of “All the Pretty Little Horses,” a poignant minor key beauty. Thomas’ “Un Petit Nocturne” is a classically influenced gem. Her “Dancing On the Clouds” is dreamy and magical, as is Southworth’s take on “Old Scottish Lullaby.” Thomas’ arrangement of Billy Joel’s “Goodnight, My Angel” is heartbreakingly beautiful.

Highlights of the piano with orchestra CD include “Baby of Mine,” where the piano is backed with strings and percussion and “Un Petit Nocturne” with harp and angelic voices as accompaniment. Jace Vek’s orchestration gives “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” a very Celtic flavor that includes bagpipe and tambourine - a spirited and fascinating arrangement! Vek also orchestrated “Old Scottish Lullaby,” this time with full orchestra - absolutely dreamy! Thomas keeps the orchestration behind “Goodnight, My Angel” simple, adding strings to embellish the enchanting melody. “Unseen Angel” begins with very spare accompaniment, but becomes almost cinematic with full orchestration as it builds and then gently ebbs back to solo piano.

Jennifer Thomas and Carolyn Southworth have created a very personal yet very universal collection with The Lullaby Album. Even if you don’t have children in your household, give your inner child a treat with this warm and soothing recording. Both of the CDs are full and rich, and should appeal to hearts of any age. I think I’ll cuddle up with my blankie and listen to this music again! It’s available from www.carolynsouthworth.com, www.jenniferthomasmusic.com, Amazon, and CD Baby. Highly recommended! "

Kathy Parsons

MainlyPiano.com 8/17/09

Review from Whisperin & Hollerin - "At the End of the Day"

By Adam Harrington, www.whisperinandhollerin.com/reviews

Southworth's "At the End of the Day" has the fragile beauty and soulful depth of a painting; every note is a graceful stroke of the brush. Labels such as "New Age" or "jazz" cannot aptly describe the haunting, evocative qualities of these gorgeous instrumentals... What makes Southworth's piano playing so engrossing is the emotional pull they create; they simply draw you in unlike many of her peers who keep their distance, letting us admire the sounds they create but not feel them. The healing element of "At the End of the Day" is probably its greatest strength. This is the perfect record for tired or downtrodden souls, an antidote for the pains of the world. Full review

Review from Ink19 - 1/07 - "At the End of the Day"

By Kyrby Rain, www.ink19.com

Carolyn Southworth is one of the finest pure musicians I've ever heard.

I can't believe I would ever use that line, but I'll say it again and again to anyone who will take the time to listen to me. This is a trip through Southworth's world and it is very worthwhile time spent. Somehow after listening to this fine work, I feel a greater sense of calm, yet an incredible, life-affirming sense of excitement and wonder. Few artists make me want to know them more, to know everything that makes them tick. Carolyn Southworth is one of them.

As a reviewer of music, I hear a lot of good material, but I also hear a lot of really bad stuff. Of course I cannot pick when I will find that bad music, but it always sneaks its way in. Carolyn Southworth's music is a treasure. She is good -- really good, especially for this normally clinical "new age" genre.

I had a really rough meeting one day. I felt like a Marine Corps recruit the way I was being grilled. It was extremely harsh. I went home to do some reviews, put in this CD and I felt an instant sensation that everything was going to be alright. "In The Wake of the Storm" in particular sealed the deal on my renewed well-being. For that, I thank her

 

Review by Michael Debagge, "At the End of the Day" at MainlyPiano.com

Reviewed by Michael Debbage

With the appearances of Nancy Rumbel on oboe and English horn, Richard Warner on sax and flute and Paul Speer on guitar, one could begin to think this is a Narada label reunion. Actually this is all about a relatively unknown Washington state based piano teacher by the name of Carolyn Southworth who was willing to roll the dice on her debut. Not only does she co-produce her luminous debut with Grammy Nominee producer Paul Speer, but she also composes all eleven tracks of this delectable ear candy that is one of the music industries overlooked gems.

Born and raised in the state of Oregon, after attending Brigham Young, Carolyn married and then relocated to the state of Washington. Perhaps a combination of hard effort along with the inspiration of her surroundings, Carolyn, with a little help from some lofty friends in the music business, has managed to create quite a startling debut. There are no shortcuts here as the production and arrangements are nothing short of what one would have expected from Narada at the height of its zenith.

The album begins with an ending entitled “At The End Of The Day” that will compel you to seek your favorite comfy chair, put your feet up and allow you to sink into a total state of relaxation. With the presence of Nancy Rumbel on oboe, Paul Speer’s ambient background guitar and Southworth’s charming yet graceful piano work will immediately invite comparisons with David Lanz. Nevertheless, Carolyn avoids being a pure impersonator and jumps into the short but playful “Sideways”. As the album progresses so does Carolyn as she explores Celtic themes found on “Highlander” with the flutes of Richard Warner emphasizing the audio visual feel of the rugged green highlands. Aye she is a beauty! In complete contrast, Carolyn takes on a more progressive and somber approach with the challenging moody “In The Wake Of The Storm”. The musical countering between Southworth’s piano work and Rumbel’s oboe is a mystical magic merging of impeccable wonders. To a lesser effect similar results are found on the more mellow “Nocturnal” with Warner’s flute work gently washed in the piano work of Southworth.

Comparisons with David Lanz are unavoidable but by the time you complete your first listen you will realize that Southworth has her own musical voice. At The End Of The Day is nothing short of a pure quality album that has all the trademarks of a big budget blockbuster release. From Carolyn’s most impressive compositions, to the high end production to the top notch musicians that surround her, this highly impressive debut will make you crave for the golden yesteryears of Narada and New Age music…and more importantly more music from Carolyn Southworth.

Review from New Age Reporter, 10/12/07 "At the End of the Day"

by RJ Lannan, www.newagereporter.com

"I listened to Carolyn Southworth’s new album At the End of the Day and it brought back memories of an album called Desert Visions. Then I had the sense to look at the liner notes and see Paul Speer's name on the list. Now it all makes sense. Carolyn’s music is the stuff that the 80's were made of and that is a good thing. After all, it is the music that got the whole thing started. Soothing piano, mellow keyboards with gentle woodwinds, placid guitar and lush soundscapes are the key to the moods of At the End of The Day. There are quite a few New Age veterans on the albums as well. As I said Paul Speer makes an appearance as guitarist and producer and Nancy Rumbel breathes life into all sorts of woodwinds. Additionally, Doug Barnett plays on bass, Richard Warner on sax and Steve Hill on drums

The title cut At the End of the Day is music that says goodnight to the sun and good evening to the moon. It welcomes the stars and gets the dreams going. Speer does those wah-wah riffs he is noted for and the piano just waltzes around him. A great beginning.

Silver Lining starts out with a sort of haunting Celtic feel and what a joy it is. It definitely has an impression from the past. Sometimes we forget that although life is more than rough, there are little pleasures and tiny miracles happening all around us. The smile of a child that you do not know, the light that never dims in your grandmother’s eyes, or the hand that is extended even though nothing is asked. Sometimes you are so happy about silver linings that you cannot wait for the next stormy day.

From the BYU musical drama Abinadi comes one of my favorites called In My Fondest Dreams. Carolyn puts her heart into every note on this one. Overall the calming tune has that pastoral sense that Rumbel is so famous for and her double-reed oboe meanders gently in the lead. It is a tune for the rare "what if" moments of your life.

After the storm has passes and its destruction is all around you, it is hard to hold onto even a modicum of hope. Sometimes it is so faint that it cannot be seen with the naked eye, but the heart is more discerning. In the Wake of the Storm is a song of faith. It is the anthem for all the Katrina victims that still hope for solid ground under their feet, a quiet heart and peace of mind.

Nocturne is the best cut on At the End of the Day, hands down. It has a touch of classical piano elements and echoing flute a la Rampal. It is a dramatic tune that gives the sense that it is time for the stars to wink out and the dawn to stretch her rosy fingers above the horizon. Tomorrow is another day and another adventure.

Carolyn Southworth’s new music has a warm, familiarity to it that for me made new memories and jogged a few old ones. Her songs are the soothing of the soul type that bears repeated listening. So when your day has just about beat you to a frenzy, put on Carol’s music and tell the sun goodnight."

Review from Solo Piano Publications - 6/11/2007 "At the End of the Day"

By Kathy Parsons, www.solopianopublications.com

“At the End of the Day” is Carolyn Southworth’s debut CD, but it certainly doesn’t sound like a first release! Produced by David Lanz’s former collaborator, Grammy nominee Paul Speer, and accompanied on several tracks by woodwind artist, Nancy Rumbel (of Tingstad and Rumbel), “At the End of the Day” could easily be mistaken for a Narada release from that label’s heyday. Speer’s guitar is so distinctive that I might have guessed that a few of the tracks were early Lanz/Speer material. Anyone nostalgic for that sound will absolutely love this CD! However, this is not an impersonation or copycat music. It is a flawless collection of deeply personal compositions for piano and other instruments (keyboard, oboe, English horn, bass, percussion, sax, flute, and guitar - almost all acoustic). Strong melodies and passionate playing make this a standout album for concentrated listening or to accompany a long drive, a cozy fireplace, or just chillin’. Along with being an accomplished pianist/composer, Carolyn Southworth is a violin and piano teacher, plays violin and viola, directs choirs, performs, and composes for a wide range of musical ensembles...............

I usually try to not compare artists and their work, but I really think fans of David Lanz’s early music (and there are a LOT of them!) will love “At the End of the Day.” Carolyn Southworth is a wonderful discovery, so check her music out! It’s available from www.carolynsouthworth.com, cdbaby.com, and amazon.com. Recommended!
Full review

Review from "erasing clouds" collected scribblings on music, film and other obsessions. January 15, 2007,

By Michael Sutton www.erasingclouds.com

"Washington State-based artist Carolyn Southworth composes sumptuously melodic instrumentals that film vivid images in the brain. This is soundtrack music with a poet's ear. On "Highlander," a homage to Southworth's Scottish origins, and "Silver Lining" Southworth conjures images of wide-open spaces, wisions of raindrops falling on emeral trees and vast miles of land. Her piano playing is delicate yet dramatic; they can drift across the ears with the plaintive walk of tear-filled clouds, like on "Once in a Lifetime: and "In the Wake of the Storm," or stoll with uplilfting self-confidence ("Sideways," "Where Eagles Soar"). Whatever moods they are conveying (which is open to interpretation), the overall effect is a relaxing, engaging one. Produced by Grammy nominee Paul Speer with Southworth herself, the CD sounds utterly pristine; there isn't an awkward note or recording flaw on it. However, the studio slickness doesn't detach fthe listener from the feelings that Southworth is attempting to get across."

Interview with "Shotgun Reviews", May 15, 2007

By Michael Sutton & Kyrby Raine, www.shotgunreviews.com

"Carolyn Southworth: A New Age for Mind Movies"
Southworth will convince you that New Age music can have a heart. She will win you over not with words, but with the plush, elegant kisses of her piano. She produces soundtracks for the mind, letting your subconscious unreel scenes of its own. It’s no surprise that Southworth is from Washington State because her atmospheric pieces capture the Pacific Northwest’s exotic natural beauty. Southworth discussed her work further with Shotgun Reviews.

Shotgun Reviews: Some people have a negative view of New Age music, mistakenly believing it as a cold, emotionless genre. But your compositions have a soothing effect that cannot be denied. How do you translate those feelings of calmness into arrangements that are involving and evocative?

Carolyn Southworth: Music has the power to touch the soul in ways that no other medium can. To me, one of the most important aspects of musical composition is the melody. That is the element that will linger in a person’s mind long after the song has drifted into silence. Having written some pieces for musical theater, I found that if a melody is strong, the audience will leave the theater humming the tune, so it’s important to me for the melody to be quite ‘singable’, even if it’s just an instrumental piece...............................see full interview

5 STARS Following the dream

At 54, new-age composer/pianist Carolyn Southworth finally goes professional

By Scott Iwasaki

Published Friday, October 27, 2006 in the Deseret Morning News
Photograph: Ron Southworth

"When I realized I could actually make this album, we got a hold of David Lanz," Carolyn said. "We talked awhile and he encouraged me to do a solo piano album. But he also told me that I was the one who needed to make the decision. We were encouraged to contact Paul."
Speer was in the process of making his move from Seattle to Nashville, Tenn., but he agreed to listen to Southworth's demos. "He told me that his move could wait," said Carolyn. "So my album was one of his last Seattle-produced projects."

....CLICK HERE to read the complete article

5 STARS Island musician’s new album praised by Grammy-winners

By BRIDGET BUDBILL, Reporter

Published Tuesday, October 10, 2006, in the Stanwood/Camano NEWS 
Considering all of her musical accomplishments, Carolyn Southworth might feel entitled to a few “diva” moments.

But that just isn’t the character of the Camano Island musician....CLICK HERE to read the rest of the article

5 STARS Southworth's album a winner

By Scott Iwasaki
Published Friday, October 27, 2006, Deseret Morning News CAROLYN SOUTHWORTH; "At the End of the Day," (Heron's Point)

"Carolyn Southworth has recorded her first contemporary instrumental album, and it can stand alongside such new-age artists as David Lanz, Suzanne Ciani and Tingstad & Rumbel...[it] will appeal to fans of healing new-age music. But it also sets the bar high for fans' expectations." Full review

5 STARS Superbly crafted.  Haunting.  Simple Outstanding.

John Reid, Keith Community Radio 102.8FM,
Keith, Banffshire, SCOTLAND

This is a recording of the very highest quality, it is superbly crafted from first to last. The Arrangements and Production are terrific and I cannot praise too highly the quality of Musicianship. It is plain to hear that Carolyn Southworth has Scottish ancestry as the Celtic influence is apparent on several tracks, but nicely stated and never dominating. The Music is haunting, relaxing, and creates images in the mind, all relevant to the titles of the Tracks. I am sure this is the whole purpose of the Album and it certainly achieves this. Simply  outstanding, and full marks to all involved. Best Wishes. John Reid, Keith Community Radio 102.8FM, Keith, Banffshire, SCOTLAND

Feedback posted at RadioDirectX , promoting music worldwide

..............................................................................................................

4 starsFantastic - Peaceful - Very Enjoyable

08-Dec-2006
*Reviewer: recon977
Extremely talented. Carolyn's passion for producing high quality music comes through in her arrangements. Her style is peaceful and smooth.

Inspiring

12-Oct-2006
*Reviewer: relindsay

The world needs more musicians like Carolyn. Her music inspires the soul and tantalizes the senses. After a stressful day; her music brings me back to a spot that I had forgotten existed. God bless Carolyn and her willingness to share her music and creative talents with us.

Wonderfully rich and warm melodies.

13-Jan-2006
*Reviewer: rich04
This music is very soothing and calming, especially after a hectic day. On an equal footing with Jim Brickman and David Lanz.

4 stars Her music is perfectly relaxing.

12-Nov-2005
*Reviewer: White Shalom
The music delights the listener.

4 stars Her style inspires the soul and has a calming effect; good for soul searching.

01-Nov-2005
*Reviewer: melleo
Her music makes the listener look towards oneself, do some soul searching, reviews the past, due to melancholy feelings the music evokes yet also, lets you pick out happy moments and treasures these. She has done this as a superb pianist but more so as hopeless romantic.

 

*Reviews from Download.com

 

 

Buy CDBiographyReviewsMusic to listen and purchasePicture GalleryHeron's Point Music

©2006 Heron's Point Music, website created by designs by ebs